luni, 4 august 2014

CRO Statistics: How to Avoid Reporting Bad Data

CRO Statistics: How to Avoid Reporting Bad Data


CRO Statistics: How to Avoid Reporting Bad Data

Posted: 03 Aug 2014 05:15 PM PDT

Posted by CraigBradford

Without a basic understanding of statistics, you can often present misleading results to your clients or superiors. This can lead to underwhelming results when you roll out new versions of a page which on paper look like they should perform much better. In this post I want to cover the main aspects of planning, monitoring and interpreting CRO results so that when you do roll out new versions of pages, the results are much closer to what you would expect. I've also got a free tool to give away at the end, which does most of this for you.

Planning

A large part running a successful conversion optimisation campaign starts before a single visitor reaches the site. Before starting a CRO test it's important to have:

  1. A hypothesis of what you expect to happen
  2. An estimate of how long the test should take
  3. Analytics set up correctly so that you can measure the effect of the change accurately

Assuming you have a hypothesis, let's look at predicting how long a test should take.

How long will it take?

As a general rule, the less traffic that your site gets and/or the lower the existing conversion rate, the longer it will take to get statistically significant results. There's a great tool by Evan Miller that I recommend using before starting any CRO project. Entering the baseline conversion rate and the minimum detectable effect (i.e. What is the minimum percentage change in conversion rate that you care about, 2%? 5%? 20%?) you can get an estimate of how much traffic you'll need to send to each version. Working backwards from the traffic your site normally gets, you can estimate how long your test is likely to take. When you arrive on the site, you'll see the following defaults:

Notice the setting that allows you to swap between 'absolute' and 'relative'. Toggling between them will help you understand the difference, but as a general rule, people tend to speak about conversion rate increases in relative terms. For example:

Using a baseline conversion rate of 20%

  • With a 5% absolute improvement - the new conversion rate would be 25%
  • With a 5% relative improvement - the new conversion would be 21%

There's a huge difference in the sample size needed to detect any change as well. In the absolute example above, 1,030 visits are needed to each branch. If you're running two test versions against the original, that looks like this:

  • Original - 1,030
  • Version A - 1,030
  • Version B - 1,030

Total 3,090 visits needed.

If you change that to relative, that drastically changes: 25,255 visits are needed for each version. A total of 75,765 visits.

If your site only gets 1,000 visits per month and you have a baseline conversion rate of 20%, it's going to take you 6 years to detect a significant relative increase in conversion rate of 5% compared to only around 3 months for an absolute change of the same size.

This is why the question of whether or not small sites can do CRO often comes up. The answer is yes, they can, but you'll want to aim higher than a 5% relative increase in conversions. For example, If you aim for a 35% relative increase (with 20% baseline conversion), you'll only need 530 visits to each version. In summary, go big if you're a small site. Don't test small changes like button changes, test complete new landing pages, otherwise it's going to take you a very long time to get significantly better results.

Analytics

A critical part of understanding your test results is having appropriate tracking in place. At Distilled we use Optimizely so that's what I'll cover today; fortunately Optimizely makes testing and tracking really easy. All you need is a Google analytics account that has a custom variable (custom dimension in universal analytics) slot free. For either Classic or Universal Analytics, begin by going to the Optimizely Editor, then clicking Options > Analytics Integration. Select enable and enter the custom variable slot that you want to use, that's it. For more details, see the help section on the Optimizely website here.

With Google analytics tracking enabled, now when you go to the appropriate custom variable slot in Google Analytics, you should see a custom variable named after the experiment name. In the example below the client was using custom variable slot 5:

This is a crucial step. While you can get by by just using Optimizely goals like setting a thankyou page as a conversion, it doesn't give you the full picture. As well as measuring conversions, you'll also want to measure behavioral metrics. Using analytics allows you to measure not only conversions, but other metrics like average order value, bounce rates, time on site, secondary conversions etc.

Measuring interaction

Another thing that's easy to measure with Optimizely is interactions on the page, things like clicking buttons. Even if you don't have event tracking set up in Google Analytics, you can still measure changes in how people interact with the site. It's not as simple as it looks though. If you try and track an element in the new version of a page, you'll get an error message saying that no items are being tracked. See the example from Optimizely below:

Ignore this message, as long as you've highlighted the correct button before selecting track clicks, the tracking should work just fine. See the help section on Optimizely for more details.

Interpreting results

Once you have a test up and running, you should start to see results in Google Analytics as well as Optimizely. At this point, there's a few things to understand before you get too disappointed or excited.

Understanding statistical significance

If you're using Google analytics for conversion rates, you'll need something to tell you whether or not your results are statistically significant - I like this tool by Kiss Metrics which looks like this:

It's easy to look at the above and celebrate your 18% increase in conversions - however you'd be wrong. It's easier to explain what this means with an example. Let's imagine you have a pair of dice that we know are exactly the same. If you were to roll each die 100 times, you would expect to see each of the numbers 1-6 the same number of times on both die (which works out at around 17 times per side). Let's say on this occasion though we are trying to see how good each die is at rolling a 6. Look at the results below:

  • Die A - 17/100 = 0.17 conversion rate
  • Die B - 30/100 = 0.30 conversion rate

A simplistic way to think about Statistical significance is it's the chance that getting more 6s on the second die was just a fluke and that it hasn't been optimised in some way to roll 6s.

This makes sense when we think about it. Given that out of 100 rolls we expect to roll a 6 around 17 times, if the second time we rolled a 6 19/100 times, we could believe that we just got lucky. But if we rolled a 6 30/100 times (76% more), we would find it hard to believe that we just got lucky and the second die wasn't actually a loaded die. If you were to put these numbers into a statistical significance tool (2 sided t-test), it would say that B performed better than A by 76% with 97% significance.

In statistics, statistical significance is the complement of the P value. The P value in this case is 3% and the complement therefore being 97% (100-3 = 97). This means there's a 3% chance that we'd see results this extreme if the die are identical.

When we see statistical significance in tools like Optimizely, they have just taken the complement of the P-value (100-3 = 97%) and displayed it as the chance to beat baseline. In the example above, we would see a chance to beat baseline of 97%. Notice that I didn't say there's a 97% chance of B being 76% better - it's just that on this occasion the difference was 76% better.

This means that if we were to throw each dice 100 times again, we're 97% sure we would see noticeable differences again, which may or may not be by as much as 76%. So, with that in mind here is what we can accurately say about the dice experiment:

  • There's a 97% chance that die B is different to die A

Here's what we cannot say:

  • There's a 97% chance that die B will perform 76% better than die A

This still leaves us with the question of what we can expect to happen if we roll version B out. To do this we need to use confidence intervals.

Confidence intervals

Confidence intervals help give us an estimate of how likely a change in a certain range is. To continue with the dice example, we saw an increase in conversions by 76%. Calculating confidence intervals allow us to say things like:

  • We're 90% sure B will increase the number of 6s you roll by between 19% to 133%
  • We're 99% sure B will increase the number of 6s you roll by between -13% to 166%

Note: These are relative ranges. That being -13% less than 17% and 166% greater than 17%.

The three questions you might be asking at this point are:

  1. Why is the range so large?
  2. Why is there a chance it could go negative?
  3. How likely is the difference to be on the negative side of the range?

The only way we can reduce the range of the confidence intervals is by collecting more data. To decrease the chance of the difference being less than 0 (we don't want to roll out a version that performs worse than the original) we need to roll the dice more times. Assuming the same conversion rate of A (0.17%) and B (0.3%) - look at the difference increasing the sample size makes on the range of the confidence intervals.

As you can see, with a sample size of 100 we have a 99% confidence range of -13% to 166%. If we kept rolling the dice until we had a sample size of 10,000 the 99% confidence range looks much better, it's now between 67% better and 85% better.

The point of showing this is to show that even if you have a statistically significant result, it's often wise to keep the test running until you have tighter confidence intervals. At the very least I don't like to present results until the lower limit of the 90% interval is greater than or equal to 0.

Calculating average order value

Sometimes conversion rate on its own doesn't matter. If you make a change that makes 10% fewer people buy, but those that do buy spend 10x more money, then the net effect is still positive.

To track this we need to be able to see the average order value of the control compared to the test value. If you've set up Google analytics integration like I showed previously, this is very easy to do.

If you go into Google analytics, select the custom variable tab, then select the e-commerce view, you'll see something like:

  • Version A 1000 visits - 10 conversions - Average order value $50
  • Version B 1000 visits - 10 conversions - Average order value $100

It's great that people who saw version B appear to spend twice as much, but how do we know if we just got lucky? To do that we need to do some more work. Luckily, there's a tool that makes this very easy and again this is made by Evan Miller: Two sample t-test tool.

To find out if the change in average order value is significant, we need a list of all the transaction amounts for version A and version B. The steps to do that are below:

1 - Create an advanced segment for version A and version B using the custom variable values.

2 - Individually apply the two segments you've just created, go to the transactions report under e-commerce and download all transaction data to a CSV.

3 - Dump data into the two-sample t-test tool

The tool doesn't accept special characters like $ or £ so remember to remove those before pasting into the tool. As you can see in the image below, I have version A data in the sample 1 area and the transaction values for version B in the sample 2 area. The output can be seen in the image below:

Whether or not the difference is significant is shown below the graphs. In this case the verdict was that sample 1 was in fact significantly different. To find out the difference, look at the "d" value where is says "difference of means". In the example above the transactions of those people that saw the test version were on average $19 more than those that saw the original.

A free tool for reading this far

If you run a lot of CRO tests you'll find yourself using the above tools a lot. While they are all great tools, I like to have these in one place. One of my colleagues Tom Capper built a spreadsheet which does all of the above very quickly. There's 2 sheets, conversion rate and average order value. The only data you need to enter in the conversion rate sheet is conversions and sessions, and in the AOV sheet just paste in the transaction values for both data sets. The conversion rate sheet calculates:

  1. Conversion rate
  2. Percentage change
  3. Statistical significance (one sided and two sided)
  4. 90,95 and 99% confidence intervals (Relative and absolute)

There's an extra field that I've found really helpful (working agency side) that's called "Chance of <=0 uplift".

If like the example above, you present results that have a potential negative lower range of a confidence interval:

  • We're 90% sure B will increase the number of 6s you roll by between 19% and 133%
  • We're 99% sure B will increase the number of 6s you roll by between -13% and 166%

The logical question a client is going to ask is: "What chance is there of the result being negative?"

That's what this extra field calculates. It gives us the chance of rolling out the new version of a test and the difference being less than or equal to 0%. For the data above, the 99% confidence interval was -13% to +166%. The fact that the lower limit of the range is negative doesn't look great, but using this calculation, the chance of the difference being <=0% is only 1.41%. Given the potential upside, most clients would agree that this is a chance worth taking.

You can download the spreadsheet here: Statistical Significance.xls

Feel free to say thanks to Tom on Twitter.

This is an internal tool so if it breaks, please don't send Tom (or me) requests to fix/upgrade or change.

If you want to speed this process up even more, I recommend transferring this spreadsheet into Google docs and using the Google Analytics API to do it automatically. Here's a good post on how you can do that.

I hope you've found this useful and if you have any questions or suggestions please leave a comment.

If you want to learn more about the numbers behind this spreadsheet and statistics in general, some blog posts I'd recommend reading are:

Why your CRO tests fail

How not to run an A/B test

Scientific method: Statistical errors


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Seth's Blog : Is authenticity authentic?

 

Is authenticity authentic?

Perhaps the only truly authentic version of you is just a few days old, lying in a crib, pooping in your pants.

Ever since then, there's been a cultural overlay, a series of choices, strategies from you and others about what it takes to succeed in this world (in your world).

And so it's all invented.

When you tell me that it would be authentic for you to do x, y or z, my first reaction is that nothing you do is truly authentic, it's all part of a long-term strategy for how you'll make an impact in the world.

I'll grant you that it's essential to be consistent, that people can tell when you shift your story and your work in response to whatever is happening around you, and particularly when you say whatever you need to say to get through the next cycle. But consistency is easier to talk about and measure than authenticity is.

The question, then, is what's the impact you seek to make, what are the changes you are working for? And how can you achieve that and still do work you're proud of?

       

 

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duminică, 3 august 2014

Mish's Global Economic Trend Analysis

Mish's Global Economic Trend Analysis


Top Gun Style Aerial Chicken With Russia Sends US Spy Plane Into Swedish Air Space Without Permission

Posted: 03 Aug 2014 10:24 PM PDT

In an attempt to avoid Russian radar and a Russian fighter jet, a US Official Admits Spy Plane Flees Russian Jet, Radar; Ends Up Over Sweden.
The Cold War aerial games of chicken portrayed in the movie "Top Gun" are happening in real life again nearly 30 years later.

A U.S. Air Force spy plane evaded an encounter with the Russian military on July 18, just a day after Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 was downed by a suspected surface-to-air missile that Ukraine and the West allege was fired by pro-Russia rebels in eastern Ukraine.

The RC-135 Rivet Joint fled into nearby Swedish airspace without that country's permission, a U.S. military official told CNN. The airplane may have gone through other countries' airspace as well, though it's not clear if it had permission to do so.


The U.S. plane had been flying in international airspace, conducting an electronic eavesdropping mission on the Russian military, when the Russians took the unusual action of beginning to track it with land-based radar.

The Russians then sent at least one fighter jet into the sky to intercept the aircraft, the U.S. official said Saturday.

The spy plane crew felt so concerned about the radar tracking that it wanted to get out of the area as quickly as possible, the official said. The quickest route away from the Russians took them into Swedish airspace. The U.S. official acknowledged that was done without Swedish military approval.

As a result of this incident, the United States is discussing the matter with Sweden and letting officials know there may be further occurrences where American jets have to divert so quickly they may not be able to wait for permission.

"We acknowledge a U.S. aircraft veered into Swedish airspace and will take active steps to ensure we have properly communicated with Swedish authorities in advance to prevent similar issues before they arise," the U.S. State Department said.
Questions of the Day

If you cannot wait for permission, are you where you are not supposed to be in the first place?
Is this how stupid wars start? Or is that exactly what the US wants? How about both?

Mike "Mish" Shedlock
http://globaleconomicanalysis.blogspot.com

Steen Jakobsen Short Dax, Long Treasuries, Sees Major Buy Signal for Gold, Silver, Mining

Posted: 03 Aug 2014 07:04 AM PDT

Steen Jakobsen, chief economist and CIO of Saxo Bank is back from a Tour De France and summer holiday and says "it's time for status on macro view and a look into what rest of 2014 gives us".

Steen shares his views in a Trading Floor post Steen's Chronicle: Three things can't be hidden long: The sun, the moon and the truth (Buddha).
This week saw US GDP rebound an impressive 4.0% taking the run rate for GDP in 2014 to 2.3%, still shy of the ambitious 3.0% the consensus firmly believe in. Wall Street is busy selling strategies on how to hedge the coming hike in policy rates from Fed and we are, again, told how rates will explode.

This narrative will implode and shortly, if I look at Saxo Bank's JABA models:
Main Macro and Market calls:

Saxo Bank Main Macro and Market Calls

  • Fixed income will outperform all assets class' in 2014 – View established in Q4-2013. Long 1.5% Danish Government bond, Long Bunds futures, Long 10 Year USA.
  • US Dollar will sell off in H2 of 2014 – NEW VIEW. Long EURUSD and adding short
  • USDJPY. Targets: 1.40+ and 96.00 USDJPY. Yield in US will accelerate to downside in Aug-Nov.
  • Germany will reach negative growth by Q1-2015 & France will be in recession. 
  • Euro growth reach zero again. 2014 another lost year in economics and non-reforms
  • Inflation expectations will bottom in Q4 – major buy signal for gold, silver and more importantly mining.
  • Short Dax since 10.000 - and still believe in 25-30% correction in H2-2014 as projected all year.
  •  Geopolitical risk will see keep energy prices elevated – leaving the consumer with less disposable income and companies with thinner profit margins.

Alpha Positions

ALPHA Positions: (all of which is more than three month old except EURUSD and Crude)

  • Fixed income: Long Bunds since November 2013 / Long 10 Y since April – adding IEF on this "Fed scare"
  • Equity: Short DAX only
  • Commodities: Long Sep. WTI Crude (since two weeks ago)
  • FX: Long EUR/USD from yesterday just below 1.3500 in Sep. Futures, Short AUDUSD Sep
  • Futures (one month old), short ZAR calls – and looking to sell USDJPY

Beta Positions

  • Long 80% fixed income since Q4-2013 – mainly Danish government bonds, Bunds and IEF.
  • Long 15% long equity: AA, INVN, VALE – looking to buy mines, insurance companies and utility in Germany. Major short position not confirmed yet.
  • Cash 5%

More in report. Brief synopsis of Steen's views: Short the German DAX, long US treasuries and German Bunds, gold and silver major buy signal coming up, US dollar topping vs. Euro, energy firm.

As a proxy for 10-year US treasuries Steen mentions IEF the  Barclays 7-10 year duration US treasury ETF. The play appears to be intermediate-term, citing "inflation expectations" in the 4th quarter. 

Mike "Mish" Shedlock
http://globaleconomicanalysis.blogspot.com

Florida Obamacare Blues

Posted: 02 Aug 2014 11:52 PM PDT

Florida has the aging healthcare Obamacare blues as older citizens who previously had no healthcare insurance demand more services than ever before after enrolling

As a result, Florida's largest health insurer, Florida Blue, is raising exchange rates an average of 17.6 percent.
Florida Blue, the state's largest health insurer, is increasing premiums by an average of 17.6 percent for its Affordable Care Act exchange plans next year, company officials say.

The nonprofit Blue Cross and Blue Shield affiliate blames higher health costs that are a result of attracting older adults this year who previously lacked coverage and are using more services than expected.

Florida insurance regulators plan to release rate information for all companies next week. The exchange plans cover individuals who are not covered by employer-based policies.

Florida Blue offers many plans. The 40 percent of its individual policyholders who chose "narrow network" plans called BlueSelect — which limit coverage to fewer doctors and hospitals — will see rates rise by an average of 13 percent.

Critics of the health law have predicted big rate hikes in the second year of the online marketplaces. Florida Blue CEO Patrick Geraghty noted that premiums in the individual market have been going up for years. "In the individual market, this type of average rate increase is typical," he told Kaiser Health News. "It is not aberrant."

Next year will mark the fourth consecutive year Florida Blue has increased premiums by an average of at least 11 percent for people under 65 who buy coverage on their own. Florida Blue increased rates an average of 16.5 percent in 2014, 16 percent in 2013 and 11.5 percent in 2012, the company said.

Florida Blue signed up 339,000 customers through the Affordable Care Act's federal marketplace this year — about 34 percent of the almost 1 million who enrolled in the state, the company said. Florida does not operate its own exchange.

Several factors related to the health law are driving up rates for next year, Geraghty said, including a paucity of younger and healthy enrollees and a greater-than-expected surge of people seeking expensive health services. The law prohibits insurers from rejecting people with health problems or charging them higher premiums. That meant that many unhealthy people who had not been able to get coverage before were able to obtain policies in 2014.

"No one can claim in good conscience that a 10-percent rate increase or more would signal the advent of something new and unprecedented," said Greg Mellowe, policy director of the consumer group Florida CHAIN. "For years, this was standard practice in Florida."
Standard Practice

No need to worry. This is nothing new or unprecedented. Rates have been going up 10 percent a year, as "standard practice". 

Let's do the compound math on a typical $300-$400 per month policy, assuming a midpoint of $350 per month and a "standard practice" hike of 10% a year.



The above chart appears shocking, but there is absolutely nothing to fear.

As we all know, deficits don't matter and besides, Obamacare will pick up the tab. If the tab grows unexpectedly, we can tax the rich and the poor, and the young and the old (especially the young who we already make overpay for insurance). And if that doesn't work, the Fed can simply print the money.

The fallback options are so enormous, one can only wonder why healthcare is not free to everyone on the planet.

Mike "Mish" Shedlock
http://globaleconomicanalysis.blogspot.com

Seth's Blog : Short term, long term

 

Short term, long term

The best way to change long-term behavior is with short-term feedback.

The opposite is not true. We rarely change short-term behavior with long-term feedback.

That's why sanctions rarely work well in international politics, and why cigarette taxes are the best way to keep people from getting lung cancer.

Sure, intelligent adults should be smart enough to figure out the net present value of a lifetime of cigarette purchases, plus the long-term health costs. And some are. But not enough.

And students should be smart enough to realize that extra effort and expense in college might pay off in income or happiness in a few decades. And some are. But not enough.

If you want to reward (or punish) short-term behavior, don't do it down the road. Advances turn more heads than royalty streams do. 

       

 

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sâmbătă, 2 august 2014

Mish's Global Economic Trend Analysis

Mish's Global Economic Trend Analysis


Afghanistan a How-To Lesson in Perfect Stupidity: 54,000 Paid Ghosts, Vanishing Firearms, Warlord Protection Rackets

Posted: 02 Aug 2014 11:56 AM PDT

Thank president Bush, vice president Dick Cheney, and president Obama for working together to create a how-to map of perfect foreign policy stupidity.

The Telegraph has details in Afghanistan has cost more to rebuild than Europe after Second World War

  • American taxpayers have provided £61.5 billion since 2002 and Britain about £890 million, for hundreds of development projects.
  • The military operation has cost America a further £296 billion and Britain £22 billion.
  • Nearly 13 years after the Taliban were overthrown, the US and other donors continue to fund 60 per cent of the Afghan national budget and are pledged to underwrite a further "decade of transformation" in the country.
  • "Large areas of the country will soon be off limits to US personnel due to base closures and troop withdrawals," the report by the Special Inspector General for Afghan Reconstruction says. About 80 per cent of the country is already beyond the reach of US government monitors, according to an estimate last October.
  • Senior members of the Afghan government have accrued vast wealth since 2001 including members of President Karzai's family.
  • A US army analysis made public in April said: "Corruption directly threatens the viability and legitimacy of the Afghan state."
  • Western forces are "trapped in a warlord protection racket"
  • Despite $7.6 billion spent on counter-narcotics operations, opium production has increased for the past three years and is now at record levels.
  • America and the EU spent more than $3 billion on building up the Afghan police force, yet 54,000 of those policemen are "ghosts" — non-existent but being paid each month.
  • Mr Sopko found that 16 Italian-built C27 transport planes worth $486 million had been left to rot next to the runway at Kabul airport.
  • The US had provided 747,000 firearms to Afghan security forces worth $626 million. They found that 43 per cent have disappeared from official stock lists that track their whereabouts in Afghanistan.

What some see as "perfect stupidity" others (especially the industrial-military complex) see as a "job well done", complete with arms to the Taliban to ensure that the war on terrorism goes on and on.

Mike "Mish" Shedlock
http://globaleconomicanalysis.blogspot.com

It's Time for Congress to Help the Middle Class

 
Here's what's going on at the White House today.
 
 
 
 
 
  Featured

Weekly Address: It's Time for Congress to Help the Middle Class

The President discusses the new monthly jobs report and the fact that our economy created over 200,000 new jobs in July for the sixth straight month – the longest streak since 1997. To ensure this momentum can be sustained, the President is pressing Congress to act to create jobs and expand opportunity from raising the minimum wage, to helping people pay back their student loans, to fair pay and paid leave. These are steps that would continue to make things better for the middle class, which has always been his priority. But Republicans in Congress have repeatedly blocked these important measures.

As Congress is about to go on vacation, the President encouraged Americans to reach out to their elected officials and let them know that they must pass these measures when Congress returns to session. And in their absence, the President will continue to do everything he can, working with all stakeholders who are willing, to create jobs, strengthen our economy, and expand opportunity for all Americans.

Click here to watch this week's Weekly Address.

Watch: President Obama delivers the weekly address


 
 
  Top Stories

53 Straight Months of Job Growth

Yesterday was the first Friday of the month. It was Jobs Day, and we saw another month of encouraging trends in the labor market.

Graphic depicting private sector jobs added

In July, the private sector gained 198,000 jobs, and total job growth has exceeded 200,000 jobs for six straight months -- the first time that has happened since 1997.

READ MORE

BBQ, Iced Tea, and the Economy

President Obama just got back from Kansas City, Missouri, where he grabbed BBQ with some letter writers, picked up an iced tea at Parkville Coffee, and chatted with employees at Peddlers Wagon, a quilt and gift shop.

The President in Kansas City

As the President took a walk down Main Street (literally), visiting storefronts and chatting with local residents, we got it all on video -- we think you'll want to see this:

The President takes a walk along Main Street.

In the middle of meeting with everyday folks and chowing down on BBQ, the President spoke to a fired-up crowd about the progress our economy has made since he took office and how Republican obstructionism in Congress is hurting hard-working Americans.

"Come on and help out a little bit," the President said. "Stop being mad all the time. Stop just hatin' all the time...Let's get some work done together."

READ MORE

Africa's Next Generation of Leaders

On Monday, President Obama hosted a town hall with 500 of Africa's most inspirational and promising young leaders. The participants are in the Washington Fellowship program, which is part of the President Obama's Young African Leaders Initiative (YALI), created by the President in 2010. These young leaders came from all over Africa to the United States to gain new skills, expand their networks, and strengthen the connections between the United States and Africa.

The President at a YALI town hall.

Despite the challenges that Africa faces, the President told the crowd that they should be optimistic about the trajectory of their countries: "The great thing about being young is you are not bound by the past, and you can shape the future."

READ MORE

As always, to see even more of this week's events, watch the latest West Wing Week.


 

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Seth's Blog : Pleasing a person who is not in the room

 

Pleasing a person who is not in the room

One reason organizations slow and stumble is that teams of well-meaning people form committees and go to meetings, determined to please the boss. 

What they do, instead, is assume that the boss is far more conservative than she actually is. They buff off the edges, dilute the goodness and quench their curiosity. They churn out another version of what's already there, because they're imagining the most risk-averse version of their boss is in the room with them.

It's the boss's job to continually ask, "is this the most daring vision of your work?"

       

 

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